New Times for the US and Canada

New Times for the US and Canada

We have expanded our offerings to fit not only the morning-lovers in Japan, but also our friends in North America!

(Times may shift due to daylight savings time.)

Japan 9:30 am Thursday
New York: 7:30 pm Wednesday
San Francisco: 4:30 pm Wednesday

Japan 10:00 am Sunday
New York: 8:00 pm Saturday
San Francisco: 5:00 pm Saturday

Japan 11:00 am Sunday
New York: 9:00 pm Saturday
San Francisco: 6:00 pm Saturday

If you’re a North American night owl, check out our other class times, too.

More Articles

More Intention than Action is the usual way

I like to keep myself creatively active by drawing things that aren't my own prompts. This month is Inktober and a group of Indian arts on Instagram have created Mindful Inktober (#mindfulinktoberchallenge) with a different set of prompts than the main challenge....

What is insight, anyway?

https://www.instagram.com/p/CEh3ZMfHFV4/ A short video from earlier this year. Insight through art is our tagline, but what does mean? Insight is awareness, it's seeing inside yourself. Inward sight. In sight. As almost any artist can tell you, once you begin the...

Intuitive art in action

This is what I drew during last week's Intuitive Art class. What is it, exactly? Happiness. That's what I wrote in on the back of paper; the sankalpa of that day's practice. And with Happiness in mind I followed my own instructions to start the drawing: "First, make a...

October classes

Excited to be offering a mix of old favorites and new topics this month. All classes are via Zoom, so you can join from anywhere! NEW Self-Portrait Meditation is a 90 minute class that begins with a lesson in how to draw yourself - in different styles - and the...

3 Advantages to Online Drawing Meditations

I'm going to be very honest here, I miss teaching workshops in person. There is a natural flow of connection, trust, and camaraderie when we are all together drawing in the same room. But gatherings simply aren't an option right now. Even here in Japan, where...

Creating Art Increases Emotional Resilience

Over on Instagram and Facebook, we share a lot of images that relate to Drawing Meditations' work, but I want to talk about this one in more depth. It's important to me. Emotional resilience is the ability to bounce back from a bad day, to accept a disappointment and...

What’s a Drawing Meditations workshop?

https://www.instagram.com/p/CEQAcgrH4gM/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link The cards are askew, but I explain our workshop clearly. What happens in a Drawing Meditations class? Three parts: SKILLWe learn an art technique or skill. We take about 30 minutes to cover the...

September classes

September online class schedule We're offering four workshops via Zoom in September including two brand new themes: Nature Drawing Meditation and Intuitive Art Meditation. All classes are taught online so you can join from anywhere. Times are listed for Japan, check...

My own medicine

Some days, I need to take my own medicine. These weeks and months of ongoing coronavirus uncertainty have me feeling unsettled - sick at heart, rattled, unsure of where to focus. So I decided to sit and trace kanji for a while. And of course, the answer to my unspoken...

New ideas

Stepping a bit away from meditation and a little closer to theater, today we launched a test session that combined art and performance via Zoom. We drew, then talked about, our versions of Amabie Together with six kids, we performed a short play involving a Japanese...